Early Australian AM Radio – Victoria List

Golden Age 1920 – 1939

StateEraCall SignLocationOn AirBroadcast TypeLicencee
Victoria 1920-1929 AWA Melbourne 1920 Demonstration of music broadcast AWA [Ernest Fisk]
Victoria 1920-1929 3ME Melbourne 1921 Experimental station Sydney Neuman
Victoria 1920-1929 3JU Melbourne Experimental station Ross Hull
Victoria 1920-1929 3BM Melbourne Experimental station Howard Kingsley Love
Victoria 1920-1929 3DP Melbourne Experimental station N Culliver
Victoria 1920-1929 3EF Melbourne Experimental station Bert Maddock
Victoria 1920-1929 3MY Melbourne Experimental station
Victoria 1920-1929 3BQ Melbourne 1923 Experimental station Max Howden
Victoria 1920-1929 3SW Melbourne Experimental station S W Gadsden
Victoria 1920-1929 3ZN Melbourne Experimental station Morris Israel
Victoria 1920-1929 3FY Melbourne Experimental station Fitzroy Radio Club
Victoria 1920-1929 3WA Ballarat Experimental station Warne Wilson
Victoria 1920-1929 3KP Melbourne Experimental station F Monteith
Victoria 1920-1929 3KU Swan Hill Experimental station Ronald Hipwell
Victoria 1920-1929 3CR Melbourne Experimental station Coburg Radio Club
Victoria 1920-1929 3QH Geelong Experimental station J F Feldman
Victoria 1920-1929 3AJ Warrnambool Experimental station E Salamy
Victoria 1920-1929 3UD Melbourne Experimental station United Distributors Radio Shop
Victoria 1920-1929 3GL Malvern Experimental station G L Bartholo
Victoria 1920-1929 3HK Mitcham Experimental station K Heitsch
Victoria 1920-1929 3NN Nhill Experimental station Bob Brown
Victoria 1920-1929 3HB Melbourne Experimental station H L Byrne
Victoria 1920-1929 3GT Melbourne Experimental station G G Thompson
Victoria 1920-1929 3OR Melbourne Experimental station Murray Orr
Victoria 1920-1929 3LK Geelong Experimental station Gordon Institute of Technology
Victoria 1920-1929 3HT Bendigo 1924 Experimental station H J Tippett
Victoria 1920-1929 3MP Melbourne Experimental station Stan Hosken
Victoria 1920-1929 3JG Melbourne Experimental station Jones & Glue Radio Shop
Victoria 1920-1929 3LO Melbourne Commercial license Australian Broadcasting Co. [Studios in Lonsdale Street]
Victoria 1920-1929 3AR Melbourne Commercial license Associated Radio Co.
Victoria 1920-1929 3WR Wangaratta 1925 Commercial license Wangaratta Sports Depot
Victoria 1920-1929 3UZ Melbourne Experimental station Oliver Nilsen
Victoria 1920-1929 3EO Mildura 1926 Commercial license R J Egge
Victoria 1920-1929 3DB Melbourne 1927 Commercial license Druleigh Business College
Victoria 1920-1929 3FB Trafalgar 1929 Experimental station Frank Berkery
Victoria 1920-1929 3EX Melbourne Experimental station [AWA] Made in Australia

You can help us to tell the stories of these heritage broadcasters in our on-line archive.

Write and tell us any information you may have about any of these stations and the people involved. Send us photos of people, studios, equipment and anything else relevant. Copies of QSL [listener confirmation cards] or other items with station call signs, logos and artwork. Old magazine and newspaper articles. Let us know where heritage memorabilia may be stored.

Your piece of information may complete the picture. Contact us today.

Your gift of funds for research and building the on-line archive will help protect, preserve and promote the stories of these pioneer Australian broadcasters. Visit The Emporium Radio Heritage Store © to make your gift now.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
(Visited 159 times, 1 visits today)
Share this to your favourite social media
Comments: 0

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *